THE POWER OF BELIEF: How to TRAIN BELIEF and in doing so ACHIEVE THE IMPOSSIBLE!

Belief is an extremely powerful force. Perhaps the most powerful. GOD KNOWS THIS, which is why faith and belief are at the core of religion. God left clear signs in his books and creations, but they can easily be denied if you choose not to believe. This is intentional and is necessary as part of the free will that God has granted us. If there was indisputable proof and everyone knew they were DESTINED FOR ETERNAL HELL if they acted in certain ways, would we really have a choice to act in those ways (free will)? There is no indisputable proof, but SO IT IS WITH ALL THINGS IN LIFE. The thing is, God is real and this system is here by design.

The world we live in gives us free will to LIVE ANY LIFE WE BELIEVE WE LIVE. Our world is defined less by realities and more by our beliefs about those realities. If you have a child, your life experience will be completely different whether you believe it’s a BURDEN or it’s a BLESSING. This is true of everything. You believe you can stand up, so you do. If you sincerely didn’t believe you could stand up, then you wouldn’t. SCHIZOPHRENIA and such mental disorders are examples of a person’s beliefs allowing them to experience a TOTALLY DIFFERENT REALITY, but it would be ego-centric to assume that their realities are any less real than ours (in their minds, which define their reality).

I read a very long autobiographical account of a man who became a super-soldier for the government called “Project Superman” (google it). I believe it to be true because it is full of fascinating, vivid details, and a complex story, rich characters etc. But the grammar and syntax are terrible and it doesn’t appear to be created for any purpose except that expressed in the beginning of the report, so I don’t think the man’s am author. Either it was just an awesome creative writing project or it’s true (in which case the implications are staggering) or it was written with the intention of deception.

I DIGRESS.

The point is, the way he was able to perform superhuman feats was by the POWER OF HIS BELIEF. For example, he could crush a metal pipe in his hand by believing it was a banana. He could shoot the bulls-eye of a distant target in the same exact location by believing it was only a few feet away. He could tread in icy waters from hours because he believed it was a warm bath. IT WAS THE POWER OF HIS BELIEF THAT ALLOWED HIM TO ACHIEVE SUPERHUMAN ABILITY.

So, if we were to assume that humans are capable of such incredible feats, then why do we appear so much more feeble? Considering the immense POWER of BELIEF it seems reasonable to conclude that it is because we don’t believe we can do these things. Human limitations have been ingrained in us since we first emerged from the womb. And to some degree there are limitations. We cannot fly because there are other laws like gravity that the law of belief cannot simply negate. (Or alternatively perhaps the law of belief, given enough power, can negate such fundamental laws!) There is a native tribe somewhere that requires that for a boy to become a man, he must be able to jump his own vertical height. (This is from a book called Manthropology) This seems nearly impossible, but everyone in the tribe does it, and so there is an inherit belief that it can be done. Therefore, it is done and it is considered normal to them. This is an example of the power of belief.

The difficulty is that for this power of belief to work, the belief must be sincere, not just consciously but all the way down into your subconscious. Your subconscious has experienced too much gravity to probably ever be convinced it’s not real, but perhaps this wasn’t always the case. Back in ancient Egyptian times could the priests have controlled the commoners (or their own) beliefs to convince them that they had attributes of super strength to move these giant stones? Could they possibly even have levitated through the combined power of collective belief? It might all just be CRAZY TALK, but we mustn’t be afraid to consider even the most outlandish possibilities!

OK, SO WHAT’S THE POINT OF ALL OF THIS!?

You can’t change your beliefs in an instant at first, but you can train belief. PRAYER IS AN ACT OF PRACTICING BELIEF. So is visualization and affirmations (which are proven to be highly effective in achieving your goals). PRACTICING ANYTHING really, is an act of belief. Each time you practice you believe that you’re getting better and better, and so you are. Try practicing without believing you’ll improve and you wont improve!

If you can believe something a little more unbelievable to you each day, you will work towards expanding your POSSIBILITY HORIZONS.

~Jones

10 thoughts on “THE POWER OF BELIEF: How to TRAIN BELIEF and in doing so ACHIEVE THE IMPOSSIBLE!

  1. Belief is a fabulous thing. So is passion, for that matter πŸ™‚ People with belief and passion can achieve extraordinary things! I love the power of possibility.

    If I may be so blunt though, I’d advise circumspection when blogging about mental illness. This post comes perilously close to implying that a person can “think/believe” their way out of schizophrenia… likewise post-natal depression, for that matter.

    If you believe this to be the case, then perhaps it would be wise to cite research (heck, I’d even settle for case studies as a feeble starting point). Otherwise, you’ve done nothing more than post a potentially dangerous opinion piece.

    1. Thanks for your comment πŸ™‚

      I’m more saying that belief is the factor that makes these mental divergences so intense, in order to illustrate the power of belief. Schizophrenia, for instance, wouldn’t be as severe if the schizophrenic didn’t BELIEVE the paranoid delusions of his/her mind. It would still be a major issue, but whether they believe their world is reality or a construction of the mind will make a huge difference on how they live their lives.

      I also can’t believe (there it is again) that these days people need a disclaimer before giving advice or opinions that have to do with illness, be they mental or physical. Like if I write a blog telling sick people to stand out in the snow to get better and people do it, then I am responsible (not the person who chose to do it)? I believe that people are ultimately responsible for their own lives and well being, and deciding who to listen to and who not to is a BIG PART of that. The POTENTIAL DANGER as you put it, is not in the words I post to the internet, but in the mind that receives it. (What they BELIEVE about my words!)

      ~Jones

      1. Oh, I agree that belief plays a role in creating distress about a given circumstance. To me though, it reads as though you’ve simplified the matter – arguably, catastrophically so.

        For instance, what informs belief? Is it fair to argue that it is a combination of genetics, upbringing, personality, environment, plus other things?

        If my argument is fair, then does the paradigm of discussing belief (particularly around something so vulnerable as mental illness) not need to be significantly different depending upon which individual/societal subset/etc?

        For eg, if I had a genetic predisposition to mental illness, was raised in a super challenging environment, had a sensitive personality, was of an ethnic minority in a racist environment, lower socio-economic status and (just to further illustrate the complexity of the matter) had an intellectual disability… Would my ability to grasp and utilise the power of my belief not be vastly different to that of an educated, middle-class, easy-going personality-ed individual?

        I’m not trying to belabour political correctness – I’m more trying to illustrate that yes – belief is amazing and has power. But external factors do too, and I find that the argument of ‘potential’ is often made by people (including myself!) who have been afforded life privileges they have never needed to be made conscious of.

        “Like if I write a blog telling sick people to stand out in the snow to get better and people do it, then I am responsible (not the person who chose to do it)?” Nope. Every human being is responsible for themselves. I just wanted to raise the point that people have different vulnerabilities that render them extraordinarily susceptible to various external influences – and that it IS more complex than “well, you were the jerk who decided to listen to me!”

        You (and I, and others) have more power and privilege than we’re aware of. I’m not doubting/underplaying our vulnerabilities (heck, I know nothing about you!) – just that “the words (you) post to the internet” carry some responsibility. Look at Charlotte Dawson. Yeah, she chose to end her life, based on whatever beliefs she held – does that completely nullify the responsibility of the online trolls who told her – a person they knew had depression – to kill herself?

        Herein lies the burden of being writers: We ARE, in part, responsible for what happens with our words.

      2. Good points. I don’t know why I feel reluctant to take responsibility for other people’s actions, even if it was my words that were the direct cause of it. For some reason I jut don’t feel like it should be a reason to temper my opinions. If, in the extreme case that something in this article caused someone to harm themselves or others, I honestly wouldn’t feel guilty. I don’t know if that is wrong or not. I rationalize it by telling myself that if anyone did do something crazy then they were on the verge of doing something crazy one way or another, and if I hadn’t been the catalyst then something would have. But I more trust my feelings than my logic, and they tell me to write freely and pray.

        But there are fragile minds out there (perhaps more than I’d like to admit) who will adopt a random bloggers opinions without serious personal consideration. For that reason I try to spread what I believe to be positive vibes and messages and/or vital information. If I fall short of the mark, well alas, we’re all only human…

        ~Jones

  2. Jones, I would like to ask if you cab contact me during a time when you are free. It is nothing negative more of a opportunity to help another individual (myself) with a few things very personal and private. No worries if I’m asking to much…

    Tuanngo.estfeb2014@gmail.com

    I am not fully comfortable with presenting my personal contact (def. Not specifically your blog just online in general) online but I would like to learn more from you but only if you are willing to
    I think you will enjoy what I would like to speak to you about.

    -TuanNgo

  3. I can’t find a way to respond to our initial discussion, so forgive the placement of this post…!

    Honestly, I can understand your perspective. To write freely is a gift of courage – one that I’m not sure I have anymore. There will always be someone/s who disagree with us; who are hurt by us (etc), and we have to decide within ourselves where the buck lies. Is it with the person who stood out in the cold? Or is it with us for recommending it? Perhaps it’s one, the other, both, or a combination of these factors.

    I don’t think opinions need to be tempered – I think their expression does – particularly when writing on topics where we don’t have all the facts (again, I don’t know what your knowledge-base on these topics are – I’m speaking in general) or vulnerable topics.

    I am in the process of learning vast amounts of information about mental health, disability and bias, and these things contributed to me responding to this post in the way I have!

    Yes, we’re only human, and we learn from one another. I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve written something only to have it torn to pieces by minds vastly different to mine. Quite frankly, I find the whole process painful, so again, I commend your courage. πŸ˜€

    1. I know what you mean, as I have had my words misinterpreted for the worst, even when I only had positive intentions behind them. I suppose it does take courage (or apathy, but let’s go with courage haha) to speak your mind, as it does hurt when someone puts down one of your ideas or opinions. I always try to remember that there’s a very good chance I’m wrong, but also an equal chance that they’re worng. And ultimately who cares who’s right and wrong? They’re just words… scribbley lines on a computer screen.

      But in this case I think you’re right, these “scribbley lines,” as I put it, are some of the most powerful things we have. They can be used as tools, to build relationships, character, and good feelings, or as weapons to destroy such things. I suppose it’s time for me to begin considering this great power. And as the famous Spiderman’s Uncle said ‘With great power comes great responsibility.”

      Hmmm…

      ~Jones

  4. Great stuff. Keep up the good work. I take the teachings of all Murshids seriously, irrespective of background. However, I believe that the priests of all the religions have been corrupted & misled by Satan.

    1. Thank you, and I know what you mean about the corruption. People need to interpret and understand God and religion for themselves, not put their faith blindly in another mortal’s explanation. Satan loves to twist and corrupt religion, and it only takes a few bad people to give an entire group a bad reputation…

      ~Jones

      1. Right on. Our enemy is not blacks or whites or asians. & not Muslims or Christians or Jews etc.. Our enemy is those that by choice or corruption or weakness have become channels for Satan. By breaking the 10 Commandments, & by open defiance & rebellion against God.

Leave a Reply

